Get 20% off with code SNOWY23. Shop now >>

For more great books from Algonquin Young Readers, visit AlgonquinYoungReaders.com.

cover
From the acclaimed authors of Hurricane Season and Ana on the Edge, an unforgettable story about the importance of and joy in finding a community, for fans of Alex Gino and Ashley Herring-Blake.
 
Twelve-year-old Abigail (she/her/hers) is so excited to spend her summer at Camp QUILTBAG, an inclusive retreat for queer and trans kids. She can’t wait to find a community where she can be herself—and, she hopes, admit her crush on that one hot older actress to kids who will understand.

Thirteen-year-old Kai (e/em/eir) is not as excited. E just wants to hang out with eir best friend and eir parkour team. And e definitely does not want to think about the incident that left eir arm in a sling—the incident that also made Kai’s parents determined to send em somewhere e can feel like emself.

After a bit of a rocky start at camp, Abigail and Kai make a pact: If Kai helps Abigail make new friends, Abigail will help Kai's cabin with the all-camp competition. But as they navigate a summer full of crushes, queer identity exploration, and more, they learn what's really important. Camp QUILTBAG is a heartfelt story full of the joy that comes from being and loving yourself.

Read more

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

Pre-Order From
Meet the Authors
Nicole Melleby headshot

Nicole Melleby

More about the author
Review quotes
“Middle-schoolers find increased self-awareness and solidarity at an LGBTQ+ camp in this empathetic, widely representative novel…Prominent in queer middle-grade fiction, Melleby and Sass write with incredible compassion, crafting a sweet summertime romance while modeling difficult conversations and valuable lessons in inclusivity. An instructive, affirming pick for rainbow readers and allies.”
— Booklist
“The main characters stand as loving depictions of cis lesbian and nonbinary kids.. It captures that camp feeling of getting away from home, meeting different people, and growing as a person, all over the course of just two weeks.  At its heart, an enjoyable summer camp story.”
— Kirkus Reviews
"Distilling many relatable experiences and engaging with themes of layered identity, this important story highlights the importance of queer camaraderie and education.”
 
— Publishers Weekly
Product Details
Age range
8 - 12
Grade range
3 - 7
Categories
Number of pages
352
Publication date
March 21, 2023
ISBN
9781643753669