Ghostly Echoes

A Jackaby Novel

By William Ritter

“Tread lightly, Miss Rook,” warned Mr. Jackaby. “It would not do to push Miss Cavanaugh too far or too fast.”

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder--her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

Ghostly Echoes, the third installment in the New York Times bestselling Jackaby series, features its much-loved quirky, courageous characters and sly humor in the scariest and most exciting volume yet.

Read more

Downloads
Meet the Author
William  Ritter headshot

William Ritter

More about the author
Review quotes
“Ritter’s latest glorious fusion of detective novel, ghost story, and fantasy. And, refreshingly, Ritter opts to pair magic and science here, rather than making them oppositional. But what may captivate readers most are the intriguing revelations about Jackaby’s personal history—and Abigail’s star turn at the novel’s helm...” The Horn Book Magazine

Energetic and entertainingly offbeat.” Kirkus Reviews
 
“This story has everything covered in its mashup of romance, mystery, adventure, horror creatures, fantasy lore, and gothic atmosphere….All readers will not be able to put it down.” VOYA
 
“Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud’s The Screaming Staircase and Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener.” School Library Journal
 
Product Details
Age range
13 - 18
Grade range
8 - 12
Series
Jackaby
Categories
Number of pages
352
Publication date
August 01, 2017
ISBN
9781616207441