EXTENDED: Cyber Week! Use code CYBER22 to get 30% off site-wide. Free Shipping over $25+ Shop now >>

For more great books from Algonquin Young Readers, visit AlgonquinYoungReaders.com.

cover

A dazzling and evocative novel about love and loss—with a dash of thrilling mystery—for fans of Mindy McGinnis and Courtney Summers. 

Owl has always been her freest self in the mountains, tracking, hiking, and exploring the steep forested acres of her aunt and uncle’s maple sugar farm. They never speak of the childhood tragedy that left her partially deaf and sent her father to jail. All Owl wants is to stay safe at the farm, her favorite place in the world, her refuge from those who would treat her differently. 

Owl’s sheltered existence is blown wide open by Cody—the magnetic, dangerous young man hired to help with the season’s sugaring off. Cody seems to see the real her, to look past her hearing loss in a way no one else does. Together, they find comfort in their similarities and exhilaration in their differences, and risk a romance their families are desperate to stop. 

But then Owl hears her father will be released from prison, and a seemingly motiveless murder shakes the foundations of her small town. When the crime draws all eyes to Cody, Owl realized he is in far more serious trouble than anyone knows—and it’s followed him to her mountain.

Read more

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

Books also available at
Meet the Authors
Gillian French headshot

Gillian French

More about the author
Caitlin Davies headshot

Caitlin Davies

More about the author
Product Details
Age range
14 - 18
Grade range
9 - 12
Categories
Runtime
8h 44m 00s
Publication date
November 01, 2022
ISBN
9781649041210