Get 20% off sitewide with promo code MAY22 at checkout! Shop now »

For more great books from Algonquin Young Readers, visit AlgonquinYoungReaders.com.

cover
Myths and monsters collide with climate chaos in a thrilling fantasy adventure.
 
Spring has arrived in Brooklyn, New York, but winter refuses to let go. Sleet, snow, and even a tornado batter the city. Mr. Ross, the science teacher, believes climate change is the cause, but classmates Edward, Feenix, Danton, and Brigit suspect older, magical forces are at work. When a peculiar character calling himself Superintendent Tiltersmith appears with a keen interest in the foursome, their suspicions are confirmed, and they’re swept up in a battle of wits and courage.

The friends must protect a set of mysterious tools belonging to the Lady of Spring. If they can free her from her underground prison, winter will end. But if the Tiltersmith steals the tools, he will keep the Lady in his power and upset the balance of nature forever.

Perfect for readers of Madeleine L’Engle and Susan Cooper, The Tiltersmith returns to the world of Amy Herrick’s acclaimed Time Fetch in a timely, exciting stand-alone adventure.
 

Read more

Shipping to the U.S. only. Please see our International FAQ for more information.

Books also available at
Meet the Author
Amy Herrick headshot

Amy Herrick

More about the author
Review quotes
"Herrick combines vivid descriptions of climate events, school-set science lessons, and weather-related stories from various cultures around the globe . . . resonates with current events and fits tonally alongside children’s fantasy classics."
—Publishers Weekly

“Vacillating between scientific reasoning and lore from worldwide cultures, the descriptions of beautiful legends of seasons and the sobering study of climate change are so rich.”
— Kirkus Reviews
 
"Despite the contemporary setting, a diversified cast, and topical themes, events take on ritualistic elements that readers up on their Greek mythology will recognize. American fans of Susan Cooper’s The Dark Is Rising sequence will find themselves on familiar footing, albeit a bit closer to home."
—Booklist

“The author proves to have a keen eye for developing wonderfully dastardly villains. Tiltersmith is a fantastic bad guy who oozes disarming charm while also being deeply unsettling … cleverly handled … a compelling tale.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books  

“It’s a great combination of the mystical and the scientific! A bit of gentle romance shouldn’t deter younger readers . . . The writing style is craftily literary, with warm incisive forays into each character’s inner life.”
— Youth Services Book Review    


PRAISE FOR THE TIME FETCH:

The Time Fetch is a remarkable testament to the power of true friendship and a thrilling fantasy adventure about the unseen world all around us.” —R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder

“Charming and clever . . . Readers will enjoy this adventure featuring a team of unlikely friends with an array of talents—each essential to their mission to restore the Fetch to its proper place.” Shelf Awareness, starred review

“A transcendent middle-grade debut . . . The plot is suspenseful, moves at a rapid pace, and is heavily sprinkled with fascinating characters . . . This book screams for a sequel.” School Library Journal, starred review

“Herrick weaves a fast-paced fantasy with great twists and turns that will grab readers from the start.” Booklist

“Take one part quantum physics, one part metaphysical nihilism, one part pagan mysticism, add a handful of truly fantastic fourteen-year-olds, and BAM! You have yourself an amazingly fun book.” Shelver’s Anonymous
Product Details
Age range
8 - 12
Grade range
3 - 7
Categories
Number of pages
320
Publication date
April 05, 2022
ISBN
9781643752884